Brasstronaut is a band from Vancouver, Canada. Formed in 2007, their current line-up consists of Bryan Davis on trumpet, Edo Van Breemen on piano and vocals, Sam Davidson on clarinet and EWI, Tariq Hussain on lap steel & electric guitar, Brennan Saul on drums and John Walsh on bass. Their last record Mean Sun was released in 2012. In 2016 the band is set to release a new record, once again combining new into new directions, while not losing the warm and luminous sound Brasstronaut is known for.

After mentions on Pitchfork and Hypem #1 listings, appearances at festivals such as SXSW and Iceland Airwaves were quick to follow. In 2010, the band released their first full-length album Mount Chimaera, which gained the band a lot of international acclaim and glowing reviews from notable critics such as Gilles Peterson, from BBC1 and the UK’s Independent newspaper, who called the band’s sound "a new way forward“. Not long after, the band won the 2010 SOCAN Echo Songwriting Prize and was long listed for the Polaris Music Prize.

Artist Links
Tin Angel Releases


Brasstronaut - Mean Sun
Mean Sun

Press Kit Materials

right-click image to download large
hi-res press versions of each photo